Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
Nat'l coach not picking favourites
Thursday, March 20, 2014

National cycling coach Yafiz Jamaludin has refused to pick favourites for next month's National Cycling Championship 2014 Series.

The series will see a total of 16 teams battle for points on April 13, and Yafiz feels that the race will prove to be an equal playing field considering that the national cyclists are split up.

"I can't say which teams are the favourite since there are so many teams right now," said Yafiz in an interview with The Brunei Times yesterday.

"All national riders are joining in different teams and that's why the chances are open," added the Malaysian.

The first of its kind series is organsied by the Brunei Darussalam Cycling Federation (BDCF) in collaboration with the Department of Youth and Sports and will start and end at the vicinity of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas, according to a press release issued by BDCF yesterday.

The teams competing are Anakpanyu Cycling Team, Belait Cycling Team, Bro's Cycling Project, Cannasia Cycling Team, CCN Cycling Team, Dash Team, G530 'A' Cycling Team, G530 'B' Cycling Team, G-PDB, Jati Racing Team 'A', Jati Racing Team 'B', Kedayan Cycling Team, Laila Manja Cycling Team, Land Force Cycling Team, Shadaa Race Team and TJ Riders.

Categories to be contested are team and individual classifications. The top-10 individuals will be awarded points for each race. The winner will get 100, runner-up will receive 80 and third-place will be given 70 points.

The point system for the rest of the top-10 are as follows: fourth (60), fifth (50), sixth (40), seventh (30), eighth (20), ninth (10) and 10th (four).

The rest of the field who complete the race within the allocated time will receive one point. The team classification will be determined by the top-three riders in the team for each series.

A tie on points will be determined based on the best individual position. Cash prizes will be up for grabs at the end of the series.

The individual champion will receive $3,000 and a medal while the second-placed cyclist will bag $2,000 and a medal.

The third-placed entry will gain $1,000 and a medal while cyclists from fourth to seventh will get $200 each.

The team classification winners will be awarded $4,000 and a trophy. Runners-up will get $3,000 while third-place team will get $1,000. The series continues on May 11, Aug 10, Sept 14 and Dec 21.

Courtesy from Brunei Times