Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
Md Wafiuddin strikes down opponents for gold
Thursday, March 13, 2014

The MegaStrike Youth team pose for a photo during the 30th National Day Bowling Championship Masters event last weekend. Courtesy of MegaStrikeBowl

MegaStrike Youth's Md Wafiuddin Hj Bakar prevailed in a thrilling finale against Cool Tones' Pg Rudisofy Pg Hj Tejuddin to clinch the 30th National Day Bowling Championship Masters event last weekend.

Co-organised by MegaStrike Bowl Sdn Bhd and the Negara Brunei Darussalam Tenpin Bowling Congress, the tournament also saw action in the Ladies Masters and Team events - both also concluding last weekend.

A total of 32 bowlers from four categories spent two weeks qualifying for the highlight Masters event, where the participants had to complete a gruelling 10-game series at the MegaStrike Bowl at Airport Mall.

According to a press release issued by MegaStrike Bowl yesterday, Masters match play action went down to the wire with the top players gunning for the step-ladder positions, where the top-six bowlers after 10 games would compete in a one-game basis from fourth to sixth position.

The winner went up against the second and third placed bowlers in another one-game roll-off which finally ended in a one-on-one title match between the challenger and the top seed.

The championship decider saw sixth seed Pg Rudisofy defeat top seed Md Wafiuddin by a single pin, 204-203, in the first match.

In the final game, however, Md Wafiuddin reflected his command over the Masters event by defeating Pg Rudisofy 214-149 to claim the title.

Pg Rudisofy put up an admirable challenge in the run-in for the trophy as he defeated fifth seed Yapp Teck Chung and fourth seed Flor Ebora.

He further continued his title run in the second match by beating third seed, and fellow Cool Tones teammate Fadle Salim, as well as second seed Abu Khaledi Yussrri Abu Bakar of MegaStrike Youth to set himself a date with Md Wafiuddin.

The Filipino Bowlers Club Brunei team emerged as champions of the Team event, with MegaStrike Youth Bravo coming in as runners-up and Cool Tones Elite second runners-up.

Hjh Sabariah won the Women's Division, with MegaStrike Youth's Natasya Rafie and Izyan Zainuddin finishing as runners-up and second runners-up respectively.

Courtesy from Brunei Times