Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
National Day Chess Festival comes to a close
Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Deputy Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports Datin Paduka Hjh Adina Othman (R) presenting blitz champion Michael Metrio (L) with his trophy and prize money. BT/Syarif Rasani

The 30th National Day Chess Festival 2014 came to an end crowning two new champions in the rapid and blitz category yesterday.

Michael Metrio, who took part in the competition for the first time, came out on top in the Blitz category with eight and a half points, followed by Daler Vakhidov with seven and a half and brother Shahzod with six and a half.

"I didn't expect to win first place because it was my first time," Metrio told The Brunei Times at the Brunei Chess Centre of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex in Berakas.

"It was hard because a lot of the children were strong and fast players and I didn't expect that from them.

"I think Brunei has strong players and I didn't expect this but I did my best.

"I'd like to thank the organisers for holding this tournament and I hope to see more to come," added Metrio.

Kamarul Arriffin Hj Kipli was the best player for the Under-12 category with four points, followed by Md Nabil Hj Bagol with four and Jeff Kwan Sheng Yang also with four.

The Under-16 category saw Chong Wei Voon Philkerson lead with 5 points, followed by Muhd Iqbal Abqari Mohd Khir in second and Syasya Badrina Badarudin in third both with four and a half points.

Hj Mahrup Hj Kipli was the top in the Above-50 category with six points, followed by Brunei Chess Federation vice-president Pg Abd Rahman PLW Yussof in second with five and a half points and Timbang Japar in third with five points.

Malaysia's FIDE (International Chess Federation) Master Peter Long took the title as the rapid champion after finishing with eight points in the nine rounds played.

Last years the rapid and blitz champion FIDE Master Yee Soon Wei landed in second place with seven points, ahead of Shahzod in third with six and a half points.

Kamarul was the best Under-12 player with two and a half points, followed by Louayy Samsul with the two and a half and Aldrie Ajeng Lim Chao Fook with one point.

Samsul Alif Shamari Akmal topped the Under-16 category with four points, followed by Syasya in second and Muhd Iqbal in third who also finished with four points.

Pg Abd Rahman was the Above-50 leader with five and a half points, followed by Timbang with five and Emran Sahari with four and a half.

Yee, who finished fourth in the Blitz with six and a half points said, "Eventually Peter Long ended up becoming the champion and I was too far behind in the rapid, though I did manage to pick up three wins and one draw in the final four games."

"When it came to the blitz, the game was totally out of control.

"I lost too early in the fourth round to the eventual champion then held to a draw to fifth place winner Syairazi Suni, which made me lose my momentum.

"I tried to catch up but eventually I also lost to Daler in the eighth round," added Yee.

Guest of honour, Deputy Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports Datin Paduka Hjh Adina Othman, presented the prizes to the winners during the closing ceremony.

Courtesy from Brunei Times