Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
12 ministries set for Piala Keputeraan
Wednesday, July 24, 2013

The Ministry of Development
football team celebrating
after winning the 2011 Piala
Keputeraan Football
Championships. They will be
among the 12 teams in this
year's edition. Picture:
BT file

Twelve ministries will be battling it out in the 4th Piala Keputeraan Football Championships held in conjunction with His Majesty's 67th birthday celebrations.

The teams will be fighting for the challenge trophy that was sponsored by His Royal Highness Prince Hj Al-Muhtadee Billah in the tournament that is expected to kick-off early September.

The 12 ministries were split into two groups of six during the managers meeting at the National Football Association Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) House in Berakas yesterday.

Group A is made up of defending champions Ministry of Development, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Communications, Ministry of Finance and the Prime Minister's Office.

Group B consists of the Ministry of Religious Affairs, Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Industry and Primary Resources and the Ministry of Defence.

The teams will be made up of a maximum of 22 players, which will be a mix of Category A and B.

Category A players consists of Division II officers and above, with at least two Category A players to be on the field at all times.

Category B is open to all others who wish to join.

The divisions were initially Category A (division III officers and above) Category B (35-years and above) and Division C (Open).

However, the changes were made to spice up the tournament and make it more competitive.

Participants must hold either a yellow or purple identity card and all ministries must submit their forms and entry fees before August 17.

Minor changes were also made in regards to the number of substitutions.

The rules were initially set for a maximum of five changes, but after an appeal from the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports, the number was changed to six.

Previous winners for the tournament have been Ministry of Development in 2009 and 2011 and the Ministry of Home Affairs in 2010.

MoD finished as 2011 champions after defeating the Ministry of Home Affairs 5-4 in a nail-biting penalty shootout after their final ended 2-2 at the end of regulation.

Last year's tournament was called off due to Ramadhan.

The tournament is organised by the football tournament committee for His Majesty's 67th birthday celebrations with the cooperation of the Kg Belimbing Consultative Council, Department of Youth and Sports and the NFABD.

Courtesy from Brunei Times