Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
Only one semi spot left for U-16 league
Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Al Idrus Junior, Brunei Darussalam School Sports' Council (MSSSBD) and Muara Vella are all through to the next round of the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) TelBru Youth Under-16 National Football League.

Brunei Sports School will battle Belait A in Group B to grab the final spot in the last four of the tournament, the date of the tie yet to be announced by the organisers.

One of the favourites to win the tournament, Al Idrus Junior confirmed their berth in the top-four after winning all of their Group B matches, and their 100 per cent record puts them at the top of the five-team table with a maximum of 12 points.

Striker Mohd Asri Hj Aspar has played a very important role for Al Idrus Junior in the tournament thus far, the player leading the league in goals with 14.

Al Idrus Junior started their campaign with a 4-1 victory over Belait A followed by an 8-0 thrashing of Temburong.

They defeated TDFA Tutong 3-0 before ending their group stage campaign with a 4-0 win over MSSSBD.

Muara Vella also recorded a perfect record after winning all four of their Group A matches, with Abd Khair Hj Basir emerging as the club's top goal scorer with seven goals.

Muara Vella kicked off the tournament with a 1-0 win over MSSSBD and made easy work of Bamit FC 7-0 in their second match.

They then crushed FC Phosphor 6-0 and finished their group stage action with a 11-2 demolition of Belait B.

MSSSBD joined Muara Vella in the next round after recording nine points in the group.

MSSSBD fell to a 1-0 defeat at the hands of Muara Vella in their first match but bounced back in their second match when they defeated Bamit FC 3-0.

They then went on to beat FC Phosphor and Belait B with 4-0 scorelines.

Both semi-finals will be held on Friday, with the final slated for Sunday.

The semi-finals will be held simultaneously at 4pm at the Berakas Sports Complex and Balapan Track and Field of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas.

The Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium will host the final at 8.15pm.

Courtesy from Brunei Times