Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
Cycling to glory in Sukma
Tuesday, 15th June 2010

The Brunei cycling team showing
off their medals in Melaka
Picture: Infofoto

Brunei cyclists made their mark at the Malaysia Games 2010 yesterday when they strike bronze in the team road race.

Muhammad Raihaan Abd Aziz, Abdul Hadrie Morsidi and Md Azbe Hidayatullah Zainul Ariffin clocked a combined 12:35:24:0 to win bronze in the 168.5km team road race and make amends for what has been an uninspiring showing thus far.

The times of the three best riders in the individual road race in the event which flagged off at the Taman Bandaraya Bukit Serindit were used to calculate the winners.

A veteran of three Asian Cycling Championships, Muhammad Raihaan was the best Bruneian in the event when he crossed the line at fifth with a time of 4:08.53.00. Abdul Hadrie came in 36th (4:13.11.00) while Md Azbe Hidayatullah was 53rd (4:13.20.00).

Terengganu won gold with 12:20:24:0 while Pahang came in second at 12:33:23:0.

Muhammad Raihaan's brother Mohammad I'madi came in 63rd at 04:13:38.00 while Muhammad Rafiuddin Zakaria was the last to cross the line when he finished 65th with a time of 4:13:52.00.

The Sultanate's other cyclist in yesterday's road race event, Ahmad Rifaie Hj Johor, did not finish the race which saw 91 participants contesting for glory.

Muhammad Raihaan was less than a second away from making it a double of podium finishes when he clocked 00:52:34.00 during the 40km individual time trial last Sunday.

Pahang's Mohd Hafiz Rosli won bronze with time of 00:51:56.00 during the race which was flagged off at the Taman Bandaraya Bukit Serindit.

Brunei also competed in the 66km criterium last Sunday.

Muhammad Rafiuddin was the country's best performer when he placed 20th in a field of 47 riders.

Mohamad Azizi Kamal came in at 39th while Mohammad I'madi was second from last at 46th.

Abdul Hadrie, Mohammad Nazirul Asrat and Muhd Syazwi Azhar Hairol Rani all failed to complete the race.

The team time trial last Saturday was the only event Brunei did not compete in.

Five categories were contested during the cycling event which came to a close yesterday; last Saturday's team time trial, last Sunday's individual time trial and criterium, and yesterday's individual and team road race.

Courtesy from Brunei Times