Official Website of Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council
Yafiz looking for new blood
Sunday, April 6, 2014

National cycling coach Yafiz Jamaludin (pic) is encouraging all cyclists to sign up for the National Cycling Championship 2014 Series.

Beginner and junior categories have now been introduced in addition to the individual and team classifications.

Yafiz wants more participation as he is scouting for potential cyclists to partake in his development programme.

"I'm looking for cyclists to join my development team. The junior and beginner categories will join under the BDCF (Brunei Darussalam Cycling Federation) Development Cycling Project," said Yafiz yesterday.

"I'm looking for six development riders to train with me every afternoon during weekdays and mornings for weekends," he added.

The routes for the beginner category will be 5.6 kilometres while the latter will be 33km.

Closing date for entry for the new categories is set for Thursday (April 10).

The first-of-its-kind series is organised by the BDCF in collaboration with the Department of Youth and Sports and the 137km race will start and end at the vicinity of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas.

The first leg will be held next Sunday and Yafiz is looking at selecting cyclists for an upcoming competition.

"I will make this race on the 13th as my selection for riders (Bruneian and Permanent Resident) to represent the country at the Melaka Chief Minister Cup 2014 on April 27 at Melaka," said Yafiz.

"Now we see many riders joining the series so why not give them this opportunity to represent the country," he added.

The top-10 individuals will be awarded points for each race. The winner will get 100, runner-up will receive 80 and third-place will be given 70 points.

The point system for the rest of the top-10 are as follows: fourth (60), fifth (50), sixth (40), seventh (30), eighth (20), ninth (10) and 10th (four).

The rest of the field who complete the race within the allocated time will receive one point. The team classification will be determined by the top-three riders in the team for each series.

A tie on points will be determined based on the best individual position. Cash prizes will be up for grabs at the end of the series.

The series continues on May 11, Aug 10, Sept 14 and Dec 21.

Courtesy from Brunei Times